Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to reduce crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People have different views about whether the best way to reduce crime by the perpetrators is by extending their punishment period or by finding other alternative approaches instead. while extended periods of punishment can sometimes be useful for them to realize what they have done to be in such a place, In my opinion, providing them the alternative approaches like psychological counselling would help them to be a good person in society. On the one hand, people might sometimes indulge themselves in crime due to uncontrollable anger or inevitable situations like traps and so on. When the period of extension in prison is imposed, it will help them to realise their faults that could have been avoided as the jail provides more loneliness. However, making them realise instead of any external influence allows the opportunity to get a greater impact on their behaviours. For example, A recent survey posted that inmates in Andaman prison were not allowed to talk to any of their fellow inmates for an extended period of time and the tracking record showed once they were set free they did not involve themselves in any crime. Hence it shows that they all have realised how important the art of loneliness impacted their life as it should be followed by others too. On the other hand, it is perhaps even more important to show them the alternative approaches for them to reduce the crime rate. The reason behind this is, that when the person is set alone they will not only have some mental instability to handle their emotion but also suffer to expose them which in turn results from them being arrogant personality. For Instance, the study conducted by The Hindu newspaper in 2023, showed the results of involving them in counselling and making them talk to their relatives and loved ones has increased their willingness to restart their lives. Thus, instead of punishing them for a longer period, these effective methods have proven significantly to reduce common criminal activities. In conclusion, although there are people who still argue that punishments should be extended to reduce crime because it provides them the right realisation period to correct their faults, I believe that having them involved in more corrective measures will pave the way for them to be a valuable person for their family members and as well as for the society