There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Students these days are pushed by society to become successful academically. It is said that vocational subjects, such as physical education and cookery, must be removed to keep the children focused on their academic goals. However, I completely disagree with the statement because it does not cease the pressure on the students. Contrary to people's beliefs, non-academic subjects at school are actually helpful to these young people with various benefits behind them. Firstly, it is certain that pupils have to study well in a few important school subjects. Some traditional subjects, such as Math and Language studies, are the foundations for students to unlock a higher academic level or even a better job offering. However, this can be a daunting task for young people when they are expected to be good at every subject they learn at school. As a result, many might suffer from stress as they work really hard to achieve it. Therefore, these youths should never get their hands tied with the responsibility of studying. Non-academic school subjects are made to keep students refreshed and healthy both physically and mentally. For example, during physical education class, pupils get to move their bodies and interact happily with their classmates. They can learn skills such as leadership and sportsmanship while keeping their body in shape. In particular, this type of activity will effectively support students ' well-being in order to study better. In conclusion, vocational subjects support students in developing useful hard skills and soft skills. They would be able to build their creativity and organize their emotions thoroughly through engaging activities. With healthy minds and bodies, hopefully, young people would strive better academically as well.