Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

During the last century, many countries have mainly focused on boosting their economy, therefore they have spent huge sums of money trading with different nations and companies. While many experts believe this is the goal nations should pursue, others believe that a further development in other disciplines is as necessary as the financial one. In this essay, I will discuss both these ideas in more depth. First and foremost, a great number of nations seek economic growth due to the perception that it will increase their population’s wellbeing. For instance, in the last 20 years, China has experimented a sharp growth in their economy, caused by the creation of factories and the subsequent trade of those articles. As a consequence, China’s population currently has a level of wealth never seen before, allowing most of them to afford higher education, leisure travelling and access to private health services amongst others. Secondly, while economic development is essencial for a country, governments and politicians should keep funding science and technology, which could potentially give the country certain advantages over other nations if important discoveries are made. As an example, the country that first finds the cure for the cancer will have in its hands a great discovery that may or may not be profitable but indeed, it will change the course of humanity. To conclude, investigating is not possible without appropiate funding, hence, there is a need for countries to be economically developed before having the ability to progress in science or other disciplines.