Innovation is often driven by the pursuit of profit and economic growth. However, some argue that it should prioritize addressing social and environmental issues. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Ever since mankind has put a step on earth, he has always been seeking new ways to promote his life. With all its ups and downs, human beings have improved the quality of life by producing innovative ideas. While these ideas are mostly targeting profit and economic growth, social and environmental activists believe that innovation should be in the direction of rectifying their concerns. I agree with the second opinion to some great extent. In the following, I will elaborate on both views and also discuss my own viewpoint. Governments have always supported innovation in order to raise productivity in economic plans and also to gain more profit. For example, governments always specify a considerable amount of budget to companies which support startups and young inventors. In addition, research plans also benefit from their support. To exemplify, the Snapp company, based in Iran, is one of the recent successful startups which has been supported by the government from the first of its establishment. On the other hand, some people are strongly against this attitude. Their debate is that innovative ideas should be developed in order to untangle social and environmental subjects. Despite the countless improvements in our lifestyle, it seems that some important matters have been left behind. For instance, the environment is in huge danger and if we don’t come up with new proposals to save it, we will be in huge trouble. As an example, new methods could be proposed to lower the issue of air pollution. What also seems to be neglected is the emergence of social problems which can be hopefully resolved with the help of innovative suggestions. My viewpoint is more aligned with the second group. I believe that until now, innovation has been more in favour of materialists and now is the time it change direction towards problems such as social and environmental subjects. To sum up, based on strong facts it is obvious that innovation is often utilized in the economy. However, some argue that we should put social and environmental problems first in terms of utilizing innovation. I consider myself a supporter of the second group.