Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that social networking websites have a big detrimental impact on people and our community these days. However, I firmly believe that there are several advantages to social networking sites as people can contact their families and friends and it can have some economic effects on our society. On the one hand, a growing number of people say that online spaces like Instagram and Facebook have some drawbacks because some people like to compare themselves to others. Moreover, individuals, who desire to be like influencers, can easily feel depressed for the same reason. This is especially true among people who are from Butan. According to the research, Butan used to be the happiest country in the world. However, it changed after they were able to access online and see other people's lives outside of their country as they eventually started comparing themselves to others. However, it is clear that there are several positive benefits to social media. The most conspicuous one lies in the fact that social networking sites can provide precious spaces for communication. For example, people who live apart from their families, can easily share their lives with their family members or friends. In addition, it can be beneficial for individuals who want to make money and this virtual space can increase economic growth in our society. For example, there are a number of housewives who make their profit by utilizing an Instagram page. In conclusion, while it is apparent that social networking sites have some negative impacts on both individuals and our society as they can make us compare to others, it is evident that there are several advantages as we can share our daily lives with our close family who are living apart from us.