Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet?

The invention of the web has changed the way how we gather information globally. Some people argue that not all the contents on the cyber-spaces are safe and there is only one solution for this - censorship over the contents of websites and this can be done with the government agencies. This essay elaborates on the reasons why governments should not control the contents of the internet. To begin with, cyber data has become a cornerstone in maintaining democratic values in many ways and freedom of speech and the right to express are upheld by web-based media. Social media like Meta and Google have their own policies to curb harmful uploads. So bureaucratic involvement to check them leads to politically biased censorship. The latest example of this is from India where anti-government videos were removed by officials, which created a row in the recently concluded general elections. Hence, it is not the sole resort to make the internet safe. In addition, there are various other measures to restrain unsafe surfing in all the latest computer operating systems. the individual user is left with a choice to view them or not, which promotes autonomy and responsibility. For instance, cyber security software like Malwarebytes blocks potentially dangerous websites and the user can select the degree of regulation. Thus government restriction becomes an obsolete idea. However, those who back the authoritarian discipline over the internet argue that there is enough evidence for the potentially deleterious information on the internet. Only the governments can do something to filter these data. The British lady who joined terrorists in Afghanistan later confessed that she had been influenced by some YouTube videos. Hence, it is the only way to put an end to such terrific occurrences. To Sum up, although there are some hazardous ingredients, censorship is not the only solution to solve this. Education must be provided to the public on how to use the web safely.