Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about how governments should measure their countries ’ progress. While some people consider economic development to be the most significant consideration, I would argue that advancements in other areas are crucial as well. On the one hand, the development of the economy is a primary priority for countries. There are two main reasons: Firstly, from a personal perspective, a thriving economy normally means an increasing number of employment opportunities in societies, where people are more likely to find a decent job and live a better life. For example, because of rapid economic growth and improved job markets, about 100 million people in China escaped extreme poverty from 2015 to 2020. From a national perspective, a stronger economy can contribute to higher revenues. Therefore, governments are able to spend more money on improving infrastructure and public services, benefiting the overall well-being of their citizens. On the other hand, advancements in areas such as education, technology, and the environment are crucial when it comes to measuring the progress of a country. The most developed countries, such as the USA, always have well-rounded education systems, making education accessible to everyone in their countries. Alternatively, the level of technological development is a key measure when judging the progress of a modern country because advances in technologies, such as communication technologies, can significantly improve both production efficiency and people ’s standards of living. Finally, whether a country develops toward sustainability should also be considered. Developed countries not only have robust economies to ensure their citizens live happily but also pay attention to the protection of animals and other species, resulting in harmony between humans and nature. In conclusion, while it is undeniable that a robust economy is a key goal for a country, developments in other areas are as significant as economic growth.