Many people believe that social networking sites (such as facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

It is widely thought that human beings,either individually or socially, are overwhelmed with the drawbacks of social media. I certainly agree with the idea because the over usage of social media can be a waste of time as well as leaving us with an online footprint which would be difficult to erase. It is evident that people tend to spend more time online. In other words, addiction to technology is increasing manually. Studies illustrate that an average person occasionally spends 4 to 6 hours on social media, applications including Facebook, Instagram and Tickock, every day which is a considerable amount of time. Even though these hours could have been dedicated to other activities such as exercising, education, and interacting with friends or relatives, people tend to squander them on online platforms where they obtain no decent results. Moreover, another concern is oversharing in social media. In addition, people these days tend to share everything online, from the food they eat to the party they attend at the weekends. Eventually, all this shared information will be considered online footprints which are intensively hard to delete. Also, many people struggle with their online footprints nowadays because they want to apply for a job and their online profile might be checked after the interviews, so if they have posted obnoxious content, that would have negative consequences on the results of their job interview. In conclusion, the growing trend of using social networking sites may not be considered totally harmless. In fact, many individuals may overshare their personal life online and create a detrimental online footprint as well as others who are likely to waste a lot of searching online.