Nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons? And what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

In recent years, there has been a significant increase in the amount of time children spend watching television, which resulted in a considerable decrease in the level of physical activities and creative engagements. There are several reasons for this, and to address it ask for actions that can be done by parents and schools. One of the primary reasons why youngsters spend more time on TV programs than they used to is the increased availability and variety of digital entertainment they can offer. To clarify, With the proliferation of cable channels, streaming services like Netflix, and on-demand content, children have access to indulge their needs by watching numerous programs and movies. Another contributing factor is the busy lifestyle of modern families. Many parents have hectic work schedules and family responsibilities parents, which leaves them with limited time to engage in activities - require creativity and active engagement - with their offspring. However, several measures can be implemented by parents to reverse this contemporary trend and encourage children to be more active and creative. Firstly, parents should set clear limits on screen time and offer alternative activities to cater to their interests. For example, they can establish daily routines that include football or basketball as outdoor activities playing board games as indoor ones, going for a walk, and exercising at home. Having a routine is not enough to keep a child motivated to do something good, so the time they spend together to give a child emotional support must be considered by parents as well. In addition, schools would have a lot to offer to make kids more active and creative thinkers, as they spend half of their day in these places. For example, encouraging students to take part in an array of competitions, adding curriculums, and establishing creative workshops can force youngsters to be active and think outside the box. In conclusion, the rise in television watching among schoolchildren and the noticeable decline in terms of physical and creative activities can be attributed to available and entertaining digital content along with the lack of parental attention due to the modern lifestyles of parents. To tackle the problem, caregivers and schools must work together to create an environment that values creativity and physical activity.