Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people argue that zoos are harmful and should be eliminated, while others believe that zoos are important for protecting species. Although zoos can play a role in saving animals, I believe that keeping animals in confined spaces with limited room for movement is unpleasant and unethical. On the one hand, zoos are excellent places for protecting endangered animals. Many wild animals are becoming increasingly rare in nature, and numerous poachers hunt them for profit in dark markets. Therefore, zoos can be a clever solution for conservation. For example, snow leopards in southeastern Kazakhstan were on the brink of extinction, but the government of Almaty took some of these animals and protected them in zoos. Of course, their population is not large but this effort has helped prevent their complete disappearance. On the other hand, zoos often provide limited and cramped spaces for animals. This confinement can prevent them from experiencing positive emotions and can lead to stress and depression. For instance, in China, a panda named Hoo Zai lived in a zoo from birth. When the zoo workers decided to release him into the wild, they found that the panda was much happier and healthier after a few months in the natural forest compared to his time in the zoo. In conclusion, while zoos can protect animals from immediate dangers, their mental well-being and the preservation of their natural behavior and essence are more important. It is recommended that we consider animals ' freedom and prioritize their well-being in the future.