Fewer people visit shops to make their purchase. What are the advantage and disadvantage of this trend?

E-commerce has become a beneficial factor for people these days. The trend of buying items by visiting retail stores is slowly diminishing with time. Some argue that shopping online is a very effective and easy method involving the least effort possible and ending up with a good product, while others believe that the traditional method of visiting shops to acquire products is the best way. In my opinion, both advantages and disadvantages have an equal impact on this particular trend. To begin with, traditionally individuals highly preferred to buy goods from stores. This is because they could examine the product by hand and perform a quality check on the product before buying it. Another important reason could be, that visiting a store regularly can benefit individuals with store perks. They can get multiple discounts on each purchase or they could be the first few to know about the latest items. For example, an Indian multinational eyewear company called Lens Kart provides a wide range of spectacles to touch and feel and regular customers also receive emails and messages about the latest products and discounts offered by the company. Although, disadvantages are equally impactful to this trend, shopping on an e-commerce platform has proven to be successful and effortless. Firstly, the majority of people nowadays shop digitally to avoid the time and effort required to visit a retail store. Secondly, companies have made it simple and effective for consumers to use their websites or apps to buy items and gain profit. Despite the fact that making sales has proven effective, they end up facing problems such as defective products being delivered to consumers. For example, the majority of online shoppers face the issue of their purchase being defective once arrives, which in turn makes the user experience negative. In conclusion, visiting stores for shopping has an upper hand, yet people indulge in buying online, ignoring the disadvantages and primarily preferring e-commerce to save time and effort.