Some people say that in our modern age because of advancement in digital technology it is no longer necessary for people to learn handwriting skills, but others believe handwriting is still an important skill. Discuss these views and state you opinion.

In contemporary society, technology permeates every aspect of life. Some argue that handwriting will vanish due to digital technology; whereas others believe that handwriting still warrants attention. This essay will expound on both perspectives and illustrate why I agree with the latter. Granted, the first notion is it is unnecessary to master handwriting skills due to the maturity of typewriting. The most prominent argument is that typing online improve the accuracy of words and efficiency. For instance, technological advances in applications like Microsoft Office and WPS Office have successfully integrated automatic correction features, thereby accelerating work efficiency as well as improving quality. Furthermore, utilizing digital technology can reduce the production of paper, consequently preserving forests and mitigate environmental pollution. The Environmental Paper Network reports that global paper consumption has decreased by 20% over the last decade due to the rise of digital documentation. On the other hand, handwriting skills hold tremendous significance in sustaining cultural heritage. For one thing, copious inhabitants contend that calligraphy summarizes the wisdom of previous generations and is typically a vital part of cultural heritage. Thus, teaching handwriting techniques deserves the attention of educators, parents and children to prevent the loss of this cultural treasures. Moreover, handwriting remains a crucial skill for holistic cognitive development, especially in children. Research by the American Psychological Association indicated that students who take notes by hand have better memory retention compared to those who type their notes. In conclusion, according to the aforementioned arguments, while some argue that typing is an inevitable trend and should be discarded, I personally believe that holding handwriting skills is beneficial for preserving cultural heritage and supporting children's cognitive development. Therefore, both skill should be valued and taught to ensure a balanced and enriched learning experience.