As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Undoubtedly, significant change has been noticed in the number of cars. It is a widely held belief that government shuold allocate more money for the road systems. But there is a strong counter argument amongest sections of people that drivers are reponsible to pay because they use the roads for their convenience. However, I am of the opinion that this is a matter to be debated under the light of several factors before any conclusion can be drawn. To begin with, let us shed some light on the reasons why goverenment governments should pay for the road maintenance. First and foremost reason is, every government is elected by public to ensure smooth functioning of all the public services namely health care, education and infrastructure services. Thus, higher authorities seems responsible for making their road drivers happy and satisfied by paying more attention to road infrastructure. Another worth mentioning reason is that Government can put more emphasize on road systems by using toll plazas on different locations. By doing this, they can not do only improve infrastructure but also provide more safety measures for car users. Consequently, there will be no financial burden on local drivers. To exemplify, an article was published in a newspaper The Tribune by Editor-in-Chief Dr. Harish Khare in 2018 about how the road infrastructue can be improved by Government, in which he described different ways such as using toll tax,and by allocating more funds by assuming this is also a basic and necessary service. On the contrary, there are certain group of people who vehemently espouse that car users should spend money on road making and their maitenance. To elucidate, cars have become more comfortable and convenient mode of transportation for today's generations. So, they are using it more. Therefore, they should pay for their convenience. Apart from this, if Government will pay for the road usage, it will induce more burden on their treasure and this money can be used for other services. When car drivers needs to pay for it, they will use the cars wisely. Hence it will not only protect the environment from pollution but also helps in preserving the natural resources which are already very limited state. I am of the opinion that myraid benefits will be induced when individual drivers contributes more for the usage of road infrastructure. By doing this, a road congestion will be reduced because people will use public transportation more. To conclude, it can be reiterated that individual car users should be responsible for paying to support road maintenance as this practice leads to several benefits in terms of less air pollution and more natural preserves.