Many people around the world use social media to keep in touch with other people and get the news. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The vast majority of people around the world use social media such as Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter to stay in contact with their distant friends and family, while others use this technology medium to stay updated on the latest feeds of news going on around the globe. I believe there are significant benefits to using social media in this modern day, with few minor drawbacks. On the one hand, the discovery of social media technology is an important innovation in our modern-day world. As a result, a lot of people around the world have been able to connect with their loved ones, whom they have not seen in a long time. For example, research conducted by the University of Technology revealed that 90 per cent of international students used Facebook to connect with other students from other universities to carry out educational surveys. Furthermore, social media can also be used to do online business and purchase items faster than going to the shopping centre. On the other hand, there is also a downside to using social media in today's world. The main issue is that a lot of people stay too glued to their screens, which has resulted in their mental instability. For instance, the transport of main roads data revealed that 40 per cent of the pedestrian accidents reported last month were due to people not concentrating on the road while crossing, they were too focused on their mobile phones. Moreover, social media have also isolated a lot of people from the real world. In conclusion, I believe social media has contributed positively to people's lives than the negatives. In addition, people are encouraged to follow the applicable laws of social media usage to promote a positive environment in the world.