Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

The vast majority of the countries are looking forward to a better way to advance the standard of living through economic revampment. However, many believe that this may lead to a myriad of concerns as the social values of the nation may be off-track. In my opinion, I believe that there are many significant benefits of such action, with few drawbacks. On the one hand, economic development is very important for the growth of any nation to move to the next stage. The government should invest more in foreign trade policy that benefits its nation. For example, the government of Australia has recently announced a plastic waste trade policy with China, this aim is to develop and empower the citizens to contribute to net zero waste emissions in society and can also enrich them. In addition, economic development can also help educate people on the impact of innovation and technological advancement in the world. On the other hand, there is also a downside to economic development. The main issue is that a lot of young people do not have access to educational opportunities to foster a creative environment. For instance, the Nigerian government recently increased the annual training benefits of workers but has lost its credibility due to unfavourable working environments to enable people to meet a good standard of living. Hence, the social values of the workers are not meant and neglected. In conclusion, I believe that economic growth has brought numerous gains to a lot of citizens through accessibility that benefits a nation. In addition, Citizens should adhere to the rules and regulations to promote a positive environment in the world.