Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this? What can be done about this?

In our modern day and age, most neighbourhoods have lost their social bonds in which their residents do not know each other even on a first-name basis. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon and propose a few solutions. Most people nowadays have a busy working schedule which minimises their social interactions or take part in community-related services or projects. For example, in the past, on the weekends, most individuals would participate in an activity that brings the neighbourhood together such as charity events, garage sales or holiday BBQs. Having a demanding job has affected the lifestyle of most individuals and reduced their involvement in such activities. Moreover, modern living districts have multiple residential apartments and skyscrapers which house more individuals and families compared to the suburbs which makes it more difficult to know the next-door residents. By strengthening bonds between the residents of a community, it brings the community together which can be achieved by the application of simple solutions. For instance, having a community centre where people can practice different group sports, have a book club or host different celebrations such as a national day or holidays will help connect the residents with each other and help maintain these relationships. In addition, the importance of building strong relationships with the next-door residents is seen in different cultures and traditions and following these customs can restore this relationship. For example, in Islamic traditions, new residents should introduce themselves to the nearest seven neighbours to their house and most residents would see each other on a daily basis in the local mosque five times a day when they go to perform prayers. In conclusion, while modern life is demanding and stressful, people should invest more in social lives which is essential for a well-rounded and healthy life. Simple gestures can significantly change our interactions such as greeting people in the morning or hosting a dinner once a year.