Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In the modern world, recycling is widely considered to be an effective means of protecting the environment. Some individuals argue that implementing environmental laws is the sole way to raise people’s awareness. Personally, I can only partly agree with this perspective. To begin with, making recycling a legal requirement is a smart idea for several key reasons. Firstly, introducing environmental laws to citizens can make them treat recycling as a serious task, contributing to an increasing number of people engaging in waste recycling. Moreover, based on legal grounds, enforcement agencies are capable of using punishments, such as small fines and community services, to deter those who are not willing to obey the rules. In contrast, if there are no regulations to shape people’s behaviour, those who lack self-discipline may not recycle their household waste proactively, leading to environmental pollution and resource waste. On the other hand, I believe that lawmaking will not be the only way to promote environmental conservation. The building of a green society requires the government, individuals, organizations, and companies to work together. Primarily, from the standpoint of the authority, except for legislation, education is likely to play an equally significant importance in environmental preservation. For example, the state education department can make policies to ask public schools to teach students how to sort garbage from an early age. Additionally, influential individuals and charities can contribute to environmental protection by setting up various relevant activities and making recycling a fashionable activity to attract the public. Finally, in terms of employers, rewarding those employees who live an environmentally friendly life is also an effective approach to encourage more people to focus on environmental preservation. In conclusion, while it is undeniable that making green laws has a positive impact on environmental protection, I believe that many other methods are equally significant.