Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime rates are increasing in today’s society. While some people believe that the best way to address this issue is by imposing longer prison sentences, others argue that there are more effective alternative solutions to reduce crime. I find myself agreeing more with those who advocate for alternative forms of deterrence rather than simply extending prison sentences. Many people are confident that reducing crime rates can only be achieved by imposing harsh sentences. In particular, long prison sentences can act as a deterrent, especially when coupled with a “zero tolerance” policy that makes it difficult for lawyers to negotiate reduced sentences. However, I do not believe that this is the most effective solution. For example, crimes that are punishable by the death penalty or life imprisonment have not seen a significant reduction in their occurrence, suggesting that longer sentences alone may not be sufficient to deter crime. On the other hand, many believe that crime can be reduced by exploring alternative approaches. Firstly, being less punitive and opting for community service or other forms of punishment that do not involve incarceration can make it easier for offenders to reintegrate into society. Secondly, another effective method to prevent crime is by making cities safer through increased security measures, such as installing more surveillance cameras or hiring additional police officers. For instance, cities with enhanced security measures have managed to reduce crime rates without resorting to severe punishments. To conclude, there are contrasting views on whether longer prison sentences or alternative solutions are more effective in reducing crime. I believe that exploring different solutions, such as preventative measures and alternative forms of punishment, can be more effective in deterring crime and addressing its root causes.