Many people argue that schools should focus more on teaching practical skills rather than theoretical knowledge. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that schools should give far more attention to educating students’ practical skills compared to theoretical knowledge. This essay completely agrees with the idea that practical skills should be prioritised over theoretical knowledge. The reason for the agreement with the mentioned idea will be presented in the following paragraphs. Firstly, gaining skills through practice can enable individuals to have sufficient competence at work, and get a job easily. That is to say, it helps them conduct their work with high confidence. For instance, nowadays most employers would rather hire qualified and skilled people, not just ones who have learned theoretically. As a consequence, shifting the focus of education in schools from theoretical knowledge to practical skills can be more effective in finding an occupation in the future. Secondly, not only can paying more attention to practical skills lead to learning lessons more successfully, but it also help retain information much better in their brains, and remember it more permanently. For example, when medical students decide to take practical courses outside their curriculum, such as doing a hospital internship, it allows them to retain information more firmly in their minds. To conclude, this essay acknowledges that schools focus more on educating students practically instead of theoretically. If students master greater practical skills, they will have higher self-confidence. In addition, by completing training courses practically, they can recall details more easily. It is recommended that even elementary schools provide hands-on courses in their plans. The more practical skills you acquire, the more qualified a person you will be.