Some people say that music plays an important role in society, while others believe that it is simply a form of entertainment for individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One school of thought holds that music is merely a form of recreation, while others are of the opinion that it plays an integral part in our society. This essay will closely examine both viewpoints before concluding that I lean towards the latter. Admittedly, there are compelling reasons why some believe that music is just a form of entertainment. Proponents of this may argue that music helps individuals unwind after prolonged hours at the workplace or school. Many genres of music have been proven to have a significant impact on people’s mood swings, and some have been shown to reduce stress or enhance relaxation. For instance, dance music can uplift spirits, while slower, soothing melodies such as classical are often used to calm the mind. Each is invented to accommodate the different needs of the audience. Additionally, music concerts of renowned singers can be conducive to bringing about joy and engagement to many young people. These events often create a sense of community and shared experience, as thousands of fans come together to celebrate it. Attending concerts creates memorable and meaningful experiences, bringing a sense of fulfilment and amusement that helps divert the audience’s mind from distressing concerns. Despite the aforementioned arguments, I align with those advocating for the role of music that goes far beyond the form of entertainment. Listening to music can cultivate a sense of national pride in the public. For example, national anthems will be played at all international competitions such as the World Cup or the Olympics, where they serve to inspire and boost athletes’ spirits. This reminds them of the support from their country and motivates them to perform at their best. Moreover, music acts as an important fabric of the cultural tapestry, preserving and promoting cultural values and heritage. Each region has its own heritage and culture and music could represent the significance of indigenous activities or long-standing cultures. For instance, Cai Luong of Vietnam often reflects local cultures, beliefs, and historical narratives through its lyrics and different types of instruments. This distinction in lyrics, melodies and sounds are believed to showcase local’s people personality and tradition, thereby maintaining cultural identity and continuity, offering insight into the region's society to future generations and foreigners. In conclusion, while acknowledging the use of music as a means of entertainment, I am more convinced that music plays a crucial role in cultivating patriotism and preserving the region’s culture.