Many people feel that urban environments are more unhealty than they have ever been. What do you think are the main causes of this problem? What measures can be effective tackling this problem?

It is often believed that the urban environment is deteriorating more than in previous years. I think the primary cause would be a growing level of noise, for which the government should impose strict restrictions on people and industries. Increasing air pollution is also a serious issue and the development of new technologies is essential. First of all, noise pollution has a damaging effect on the health of those living in urban cities as it leads to a rise in their frustration. In other words, urban dwellers are more likely to be distracted, finding it hard to concentrate on their work and study due to the sudden interruption of noise from construction sites as well as streets. Thus, strict regulations are necessary to reduce the level of noise by charging drivers of vehicles and industries to discourage them from producing annoying noise. Such an active approach is crucial in promoting the peace and health of residents, who would not feel stressed about constant exposure to the noise. Another significant cause of the unhealthy in cities is air pollution resulting from a rapid increase in cars on the roads. Indeed, the level of CO2 and harmful chemical substances is rising dramatically in centres of cities, which promotes global warming. For instance, the average temperature in Tokyo has risen by 1.2 degrees Celsius for a decade, increasing more risk of health diseases including dehydration. Therefore, the use of electric vehicles should be widely promoted to reduce gas emissions to protect their safety. In conclusion, one of the significant causes of the unhealthy urban environment is the growing troubles of noise which comes from transportation and construction, for which tax should be imposed on those who produce noise. In addition, air pollution is also a serious cause, for which electric cars should replace conventional cars due to their dangerous emissions.