The number of older people is increasing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

These days, there are more and more elderly individuals in the globe. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of aging in society. One of the major advantages is an increase in the amount of tax from the perspective of governments and communities. To specify, legal authorities can redistribute this increased revenue towards the public. For example, they can construct more infrastructure such as houses, hospitals, and schools. Hence, people are allowed to satisfy their main necessities without shortages. As a consequence, individuals will benefit from retaining crucial social facilities, improving their standard of living. In contrast, older people may put pressure on the younger generation. This is because their retirement age could be increased as they can live longer, hence there will be fewer opportunities for unemployed young people to have their jobs. Thus, there will be higher unemployment among young individuals, so it puts a burden on society in general. Moreover, this would cause the workplace to be less productive since older people are less effective in processing the work in the long-term even though they have more experience and skill sets than their counterparts. Therefore, numerous companies will struggle to laid off older employees as people above retirement age do not leave by themselves, causing businesses to be less efficient. In conclusion, a higher the proportion of older people will restrict the younger generation to find fewer jobs, while having positive impacts on society financially by building more necessary facilities to enhance the social security.