Some people think news has no connection to peoples lives. Therefore, it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the rise in technology, we see the news in many various ways such as on Instagram, on our TVs or in the newspaper, regardless of this, news has become an integral part of our lives whether we like it or not. I believe that watching the news is neither a waste nor a good way of spending time. On one hand, while news causes awareness and helps people form an opinion and campaign against a person or a law like the Kolkata rape tragedy that is happening in India, it also helps people gain knowledge about different aspects of their life like politics or current affairs. News is also used to spread information to the masses and hence, has a huge influence on people. Moreover, news serves as historical records and is evidence of what happened in the past. Furthermore, it also helps us understand different perspectives on a particular topic. On the other hand, the huge influence of news can also be used in a negative way as most news channels and creators are controlled by political parties which then use their power to spread propaganda. Most of the news these days is completely unreliable while also being irrelevant to some extent which makes it hard to trust a news channel or newspaper. News channels also misuse their power by framing someone or something by taking a certain situation out of context to gain popularity and views. To conclude, I think that we should have a reliable news source and be mindful of the news we are consuming while trying to understand both perspectives of a situation before taking a side.