In some cultures, children’s are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Youngsters in many parts of the world are taught that they are able to achieve whatever they desire as long as they work hard for it. This essay will discuss what are the positives and negatives that this message carries. One of the main merits of this idea is that it instils a strong motivation for children to succeed from a young age. This can help young people to have a clear plan on how to achieve their future goals and give them a sense of security by knowing what steps should be taken to reach their targets. Additionally, working hard from an early age teaches children how to be disciplined. This can reflect positively on their future adult life and help them to navigate challenging situations in the future by applying the methods they learned in their early lives. Furthermore, this idea provides children with a sense of control over their own destinies by knowing that their path to succession is dependent on their work rate. On the other hand, there are a few drawbacks attributed to this message. Firstly, children might feel pressured by the idea that in order to succeed they should work hard from an early age. This can create a psychological burden and affect the general well-being of a child. Secondly, this mindset might lead to children living in fear of failure, as they might be convinced that they are the ones to blame if they fail to achieve their targets. Finally, youngsters might be missing out on doing normal childhood activities such as playing or socializing with their peers, owing to the constant pressure of having to work hard for future success. In conclusion, there are a few benefits to promoting the idea of hard work to children. However, there are a number of downsides that are worth mentioning as well.