Some people believe that educational qualifications will always bring success in life. Other people say that educational qualifications do not necessarily bring success. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a high likelihood that educational qualifications will bring success in life in terms of financial security and stability. In fact, research suggests that almost all high- income earners have at least an undergraduate degree. It is easier for a qualified individual to secure and maintain a job which can lead to opportunities for promotions and pay raises. Additionally, these employed individuals enjoy a steady source of income as well as other benefits from their employer which helps them meet their daily needs. Generally, well-qualified employees will also win promotions and pay raises as they progress in their careers which can help elevate their lifestyle. Because of a steady income, these individuals are better equipped to provide for their families. More qualified individuals may also have access to disposable income which they can save or spend on discretionary expenses. In addition to sustaining themselves, they can also explore and develop their interests which may bring them fulfillment in life. Therefore, a well-qualified individual is more likely to be successful in their life than someone who is not as qualified. In contrast, people who are not as educationally qualified can do well in life if they have certain talents in fields including arts or trades. These talented individuals can often out-earn their well-educated counterparts. However, this is very difficult for most because of the fierce competition and lack of opportunities in these fields. An individual who is extremely talented and is able to seek out and capitalize on opportunities can be very successful, however, the odds are unfavourable. In my opinion, if a young person has not found where their passion and talents lie, they are better off earning academic credentials in order to make a good living. The income earned would allow them to pursue different interests until they zero in on an interest that they can be successful in.