You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: The increase in mobile phone use in recent years has transformed the way we live, communicate and do business. Mobile phones can also be the cause of social or medical problems. What forms do these problems take? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of mobile phones? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recent advancements in technology have influenced our lives in various aspects, resulting in both positive and negative outcomes. Mobile phones are one of the most popular technological gadgets among individuals, which have changed our lifestyle and communications. As it is believed that they can be the source of social or health issues, in this essay some of these problems will be investigated. Also, the benefits and drawbacks of using cell phones will be compared. The most significant effect that smartphones have regarding medical concerns is their negative impact on our brain functionality. It has now undoubtedly been proven that the radio waves emitted from these devices interfere with the brain's neurological activities lowering its productivity in the long term. For instance, research has demonstrated that people who spend a lot of time using their mobiles are more susceptible to getting Altzimer disease in the future. Moreover, the unfavourable role of such devices in society should not be neglected. Although people noticeably benefit from these gadgets in their everyday lives, some devastating results should be revealed in order to control the average daily usage. One certain disadvantage of cell phones is that they have reduced the amount of close, intimate relationships. Before smartphones existed, individuals used to spend so much quality time with their family and friends, but unfortunately nowadays with the emergence of these devices, communications are getting remote and low-quality. For example, young adults tend to video call their parents instead of paying them a visit. While these demerits are inevitable, the outstanding merits of mobiles should not be missed. It is irrefutable that such tools have made our lives way more convenient from every angle. As an example, family members who are living far from each other, are able to be in touch easily. Furthermore, the level of public knowledge has increased remarkably due to easy access to data through smartphones. In addition, the role of these tools in monitoring individuals' health is also valuable. To exemplify, health monitoring applications which are installed on smartphones can be a great help to people who want to check their vital signs on a regular basis. All in all, although certain concerns exist about the disadvantages of mobiles in our social and physical well-being, from my viewpoint the benefits outweigh the drawbacks for sure. I strongly believe that if we learn how to maintain balance and not overuse these gadgets, there will be fewer problems and fewer worries.