Some people think that in order to deal with the problem of congestion in cities, privately owned vehicles should be banned in city centers, while others consider this to be an unrealistic solution. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There exist a multitude of initiatives which can be undertaken to improve the traffic jams caused by cars, ranging from improving the public transit network to making bus tickets more affordable. Some individuals contend that restricting personal-use vehicles in city centres will be a beneficial solution to solve the congestion crisis, while others argue it will be hard to achieve in reality. This essay will delve into both perspectives, and give a concluding view. To begin with, banning the use of private vehicles in city centres would reduce the number of four-wheelers on the road, which are majorly responsible for choked roads. In Gdansk, Poland, for instance, private vehicles are not allowed to operate in the Old Town, resulting in a complete absence of traffic problems. This can be implemented with stringent government regulations with hefty fines. This will also lead to less emissions, thus also decreasing the air pollution caused by such vehicles. On the other hand, is restricting car usage the most effective way to decrease congestion? Perhaps, these rules will encourage drivers to take other routes, which will just deviate the cars, instead of addressing the root problem. So the implementation of these strict policies is not a realistic way to achieve accessible roads. Another effective remedy is improving the public transportation infrastructure, by increasing its connectivity and accessibility for example. This would lead to people preferring to commute via the subway system, which can be witnessed in Tokyo and Singapore. As a result of which almost no traffic jams are seen in these cities. In conclusion, although the restriction of private vehicles in the city centres seems a good way to curb the road congestion challenge, it is only a superficial solution. I believe this to be unrealistic, and contend that other initiatives, such as advancing the metro lines, will work more effectively in mitigating traffic in the long term.