Some people belive that university education should only be offered to those who can pay for their own courses and the government should not be expected to fund higher education. to what extent do you agree?

Free education in higher studies has been a trending topic for some time now. As a product of a free educational system, I completely agree that the government should grant free university access to every citizen. Firstly, when the government funds higher education, it entitles every citizen to a good academic background which guarantees a well-educated, literate society. Literate and cultural citizens will ensure a civilized society where the country will move towards better growth and development. In addition, when everybody is given fair opportunities, studies will be competitive which will ultimately result in a quality educational system even though this could make students stressed. Well-recognized, important roles in a country such as teachers, doctors, engineers and businessmen will be the ones who are the most competent and skilful rather than the ones who can afford higher studies. Such roles will generate more revenue, and such competency and skills will contribute to the overall income index of a country and the quality of living. It is a well-known fact that educated people will land better employment opportunities. Since the population is smart and well-employed, they can contribute back to society and future generations through a good tax system. The better the employment status is, the bigger the tax rates. Hence expenditure on free university access is not actually an expense but it is ultimately an investment in the long run. In conclusion, I would say that the government should fund higher education as it has more and better advantages than making it private and less affordable.