Some children receive almost no encouragement from their parents regarding their performance at school, while other children receive too much pressure from their over enthusiastic parents which can have a negative impact on the child. Why do you think some parents put too much pressure on their children to perform well at school? What do you think the role of a parent should be in their child's education?

It is widely believed that parental encouragement of children's performance can result in positive reinforcement. Likewise, zero encouragement or extreme parental stress might result in reduced school performance. This essay will look at both sides of the scenario to reach an effective conclusion. Firstly, there have been many studies on how positive encouragement can result in increased performance by children. Secondly, any criticism from parents should always be constructive rather than destructive. For example, children can be rewarded for high performances, whether it may be academic or sporting success. This positive feedback will ensure sustained effort by the child to maintain or improve in these respective fields. Conversely, zero encouragement or extremely destructive criticism will result in negative feedback. The child may lose interest in their academic pursuit. This can result in severe mental trauma, lack of interest and severe burnout. Additionally, there have been reports of children suffering from anxiety as a result of increased parental pressure. These mental issues sustained at an early age may even persist into adulthood. Furthermore, Traumatised individuals require ongoing psychologist support to overcome these childhood issues. As with all problems, a balanced approach is probably the best solution. Positive encouragement is essential for children, however, too little or too much can result in negative outcomes. Schools can arrange parent-teacher meetings where doctors can be invited to take classes on the importance of good parenting. To conclude, I am of the opinion that parents should exercise moderation and strive for the middle ground in this scenario.