Nowadays more and more older people who need employment have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause?What are the solutions?

There is an increasing number of elders, trying to rival youths for the same occupations which brings up a lot of issues. For instance, the former group may have difficulties dealing with technology at work as well as the employer's concerns about their health issues and productivity. This essay will discuss both issues and will suggest solutions. While many youngsters are dealing with unemployment and having stiff competition to get hired for a specific job, elders might interfere to steal the chance from them and make this even more competitive than before. Nevertheless, as the working force of today must adapt themselves to technology, older should learn how to use a computer for instance if they intend to be employed. There is research claiming that most of the older generation are technophobes in nature and cannot deal with difficulties regarding the use of advanced technologies at the workplace such as working with a specific software related to office work, Moreover, the time with which they can work efficiently is probably less than younger individuals due to their either health issues or their age. A prime example of that might be the time a young employee of a bank could allocate to work productively but the older one might not be able to deal with a huge amount of customers in a long time. Nonetheless, creating a learning environment at work for all age groups, especially how to work with specific means of technology such as computers, fax machines, and printers could be beneficial to both generations. This not only connects these people to each other but it also fosters youths to use the elders ' experience. In addition, for the productivity issue, employers can arrange flexible working hours for the older individuals, giving them some time to take longer breaks compared with the younger ones to increase their efficiency. Research in 2010 in a paper factory in Iran revealed that their older employees worked about 20 per cent more efficiently than their younger colleagues if they were given longer rest, as they were more experienced and could work faster. In conclusion, there is an increasing demand for elders to work again, although they might encounter challenges of productivity as well as technology. despite all these problems, a warm learning environment and a time to give a break to this generation might be a good solution to this issue and may one day bring all age groups together again.