Popular events like the Football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tension and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree?

It is often believed that international sports events such as the Football World Cup play a significant role in encouraging global peace and love for a home country without causing any damage. I partially agree with this, for people are more likely to respect foreign players regardless of the fact that they sometimes create a sense of antagonism against them. On the one hand, international sports events are essential in establishing a peaceful relationship across borders as they are encouraged to respect one another. In other words, global contests are valuable opportunities for players to learn the sophisticated skills of foreign athletes as well as admire their unique talents to have a positive view toward them. For instance, Kubota, a Japanese professional basketball player, made a comment praising the advanced techniques of defence of a Korean team, which eased tension between the two countries, promoting a peaceful relationship. Thus, international contests allow them to understand their achievements and have honest communication in spite of their differences in nationalities. On the other hand, such international festivals also have a negative effect on their bonds since they can create harsh criticisms due to a rising sense of rivalry. Indeed, people are more likely to blame foreign players for their unfair plays. For instance, many Japanese athletes in Judo were suspicious about the performance of French players, some of which should be strictly forbidden in the Olympic games held in 2024. This can deteriorate their relationships since they are regarded as violent and offensive. In conclusion, I somewhat support that global sports games are crucial in deepening their understanding and respecting international athletes for their advanced skills. However, they can cause a sense of hatred and doubt when they do not seem to adhere to international rules and demonstrate fairness.