In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

It is a common viewpoint that in the future people will be solely dependent on e-papers rather than buying physical newspapers or books. I partially agree with this notion, as the e-reading trend is expanding due to the advancements in technologies, however, there are also some misconceptions about this new shift. This essay will discuss my two different views on this matter with a logical narration. On the one hand, it is very true that a significant amount of people are shifting to online reading resources because of flexibility and convenience. Faster access to news around the world and brand-new books make e-reading more popular. Moreover, digital reading is also much easier, thanks to modern mobile electronic devices with screens, like mobile phones and tabs. For instance, people can read the news while they commute to their workplace even on public transportation through e-newspaper services like The Time newspaper on their smartphones. This development is rising because of the convenience and flexibility of digital reading platforms. On the other hand, even though the fact that e-reader numbers are rising, the argument that these tools are cost-free is contradictory. The apps and websites that provide books and news began to charge consumer fees on a time basis in the last few years. For example, one of the popular e-book platforms, Kindle charge the readers a good sum at frequent time intervals, eventually leading the buyers to purchase more than necessary. Consequently, the lack of financial advantage from this reading approach can deviate many people from this trend. In conclusion, in the modern world, the consumer behaviour of society is constantly changing and it also has an effect on reading habits of individuals. To a certain extent, I agree that in the future e-reading might be dominant, yet, the surge of subscription charges in digital reading networks challenges the validity of the former argument.