Some people believe that younger generations can learn a lot about how to be good members of society from older generations. Others think it is better for younger people to get advice on how to be a good citizen from their peers. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that there is a lot of learning scope for young people if they listen to elders, while others suggest that listening to someone from the same age group helps them become good citizens. While a piece of friendly advice from a fellow makes the younger folks listen, taking advice from adults helps shape personalities for the better. Students listen to good bits of advice from their friends and even follow them because they share a strong bond. They are more comfortable opening up with each other because of the amount of time spent together. They share the secrets with one another which is not talked about with anyone else. This level of comfort allows them to trust and hence, listen to anything the opposite person would say. For example, renowned Indian actor Sanjay Dutt was able to let go of his drug addiction because of his friend's constant counselling. However, even if we assume that most advice is for the better of an individual, there is still only a limited set of information a young boy can give to his friend due to the lack of worldly experiences. This is where the adults come into the picture. They have a rich understanding of people, cultures and places. Based on these, they can determine the difference between right and wrong, and even the grey areas. Their maturity allows them to look at a problem through different lenses. Hence, they become the right guide for a child's overall development and in turn, shape them to become a decent individual in society. For instance, infants all around the world growing up without a father figure turn out to be more aggressive than the others. This is why having an elderly person as your guide when you're growing up ultimately leads you to be an ideal person. In conclusion, although young people take pieces of advice from their friends, this cannot help them to be decent members of society. Instead, they should always turn to older people as they have gone more through their lives.