Some people think that children should be taught to be competitive in school. Others, however, say that cooperation and team working skills are more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Competition could be both a blessing and a curse. Some people think that school should teach children how to be competitive, while others think cooperation is a priority. Although the first opinion could be useful sometimes, I believe teamwork is more important, especially for youngsters. On one hand, competition when taught at a young age could help students give their best. For example, a student who got a low result in a specific subject starts to look for ways how to achieve better so that he can be appreciated and honoured. Also, competition helps in character development and urges students to shine from a young age. Conversely, the downside of competition could be developing selfishness and contributing to help a student become envious towards his classmates. On the other hand, cooperation and teamwork skills are valuable and polite skills. They help pupils think about their mates and consider their emotions. These traits could also help build friendships and uplift performance with kindness. For instance, if a group of students sense that a member is absent due to illness they will take notes for them and help them get back on track. Another benefit of collaboration is upgrading communication skills, as they communicate positively towards a specific goal. To conclude, there is a debate about students whether to teach them to be competitive or collaborative. I strongly believe collaboration is better because it helps develop other positive traits such as consideration of others and being friendly. But a mix of competition and collaboration could also be useful in building positive skills for pupils.