in many countries, paying for things using mobile phones (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

This essay will discuss the positive and negative aspects of paying with electronic devices and argue why the advantages are superior. Whilst acknowledging that there are drawbacks, this essay will argue the advantages of cashless transactions outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, there are obvious disadvantages, such as losing the sense of the value of money due to not having it physically in your hands. Moreover, moving into a cashless world, gives more power to the government by controlling all your transactions and having a record in your bank statements. For instance, if you want to spend your capital on things that politicians do not like you to spend, you will not be able to do it anymore in a cashless world. On the other hand, we can see many pros, like not having to carry notes in your pocket, something that many people avoid nowadays because of the chances of losing money. A clear example, a statistic have shown that 20% of the money of the entire world's population has been lost accidentally from their pockets. Furthermore, another advantage is the control you have over your spending when you have records of your transactions in your online banking, helping many people have a better understanding of their finances. To sum up, this essay discussed the pros and cons associated with paying with electronic money. While there are clearly disadvantages, in this case, I would probably say that not having to carry money and having control of your spending outweigh the negative aspects of this.