Some students tend to play computer games rather than sports. Why is this? What can be done to tackle the problem?

Nowadays some students prefer to engage with video games rather than exercises or sports. This essay will explain two main causes including the lack of sophisticated sporty facilities and the attraction of computer games. Also, it represents two solutions comprising developing public sports facilities and holding sport-oriented events and competitions. Lack of sophisticated sporty amenities is the first cause. It is evident that when there are no complete sports centres close to students, they cannot pursue their desired sports in their free time. In my country, Iran, for instance, while a lot of young people are interested in football, because of the lack of standard pitches they cannot pursue their desires. The second cause is the attraction of video games. In the view of many people, video games thanks to using new technologies and visual effects are more attractive than every activity. This attraction can convince students to allocate their free time to play video games instead of sports. Developing sporty centers can considered the first solution. It is obvious that increasing accessibility to sporty amenities can help people to pursue their desired sports. If there are enough facilities, some students will abandon their computers and start their desired sports. As the second solution, governmental organizations can hold sport-oriented events and competitions. These kinds of events can attract a lot of people and encourage them to contribute to public activities. For example, a lot of Iranian students are really into wrestling and pursue it professionally because of an annual competition named the Zarrin Prize which is held in Tehran. In conclusion, there are two main reasons why students prefer to play video games rather than sports, including the lack of enough sports centres and the attraction of computer games. Additionally, it is explained that developing sporty centres and holding sport-oriented events can considered two practical solutions.