More and more movies are being released directly onto streaming platforms, like Netflix and Disney Plus, rather than being played in cinemas. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Filmmakers are releasing more movies on OTTs like Netflix and Disney Plus than movie theatres. The advantages to this are the availability of more genres and increased convenience. However, the disadvantages are more digital stress and a negative impact on the economy. As producers are choosing these online platforms more, the cost of making a movie is decreasing because the ad-hoc costs incurred, from production to release, in a traditional setup are completely gone. As a result, the number and the type of movies available are also seeing a huge jump. Moreover, accessibility is also enhanced exponentially. People don't have to travel a long distance anymore or spend their money on buying different movie tickets. Instead, a nominal one-time subscription fee takes care of all these things and one could watch their most awaited show from their couch. For instance, in a recent survey by Keen Research last year, it was shown that all the participants prefer waiting a little more to see a newly released cinema on OTT simply because they have the freedom to watch it from the comfort of their home. But, an individual gets digitally fatigued easily after watching them on TVs, computers or phones. With the level of variety being available, a person's tendency to binge-watch also increases, and with that increases eye strain. Additionally, it also leads to more people sitting in their houses rather than spending in theatres and their offerings such as food and drinks etc. The capital inflow required by these multiplexes to operate slowed down and without this aid, they eventually shut down. For example, since 2020 record number of cinema theatres have shut down around the world because the money coming from ticket sales decreased a lot after the significant adoption of Amazon Prime and Netflix by the public. In conclusion, streaming services have provided a lot of convenience and variety to the public, but it comes with a stress on an individual's health as well as the economy.