Improving living conditions within society is a far superior approach to crime prevention than the threat of punishment. To what extent do you agree with this statement and why?

The debate about whether improving the life quality of people in society is a more effective approach to crime prevention than the threat of punishment is a prominent one. This essay will discuss both views and state my own opinion. To elaborate, it can not be denied that a better life leads to a lower crime rate due to the fact that people, especially low-income, do not have to struggle for a living. Improving living conditions, including securing access to food, clean water, shelter and utilities, will help citzens focus more on something else such as self-improvement rather than committing a crime. An evidence example can be seen from a developed country such as Switzerland, one of the best countries for quality of life, that with higher living conditions, the crime rate ranges from very low to non. This will also reduce the inequality in our society. Nevertheless, a strong punishment should be addressed by the authorities to lower the crime rate. Without it, people will not be scared to do something illegal. Additionally, living in prison is better than living out for certain people; however, a fine is just a penny to some people. As a consequence, the threat of punishment needs to be conducted strongly in order to prevent people from committing a crime. In Japan, for example, they have a very strong punishment for illegal actions; therefore, they become one of the lowest crime rates countries in the world. In my point of view, the government can address to problems contributing to crime by both improving living conditions to be better than prison for certain people and imposing a strong punishment. With both of them, the crime rate will eventually decrease and make this world a better place to live.