Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest time of most people’s lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, inspite of greater responsibilities. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A large group of individuals believes that years when people are adolescents are the happiest years in the lives of most, while others think that despite more responsibilities, as adults people have more happiness. This essay strongly agrees that adults are happier than teenagers. It may be considered that teenagers are very happy, but in reality, most of them are not, due to several reasons. People change in their teens very much: their bodies change, their values, life ideas, morals and so on. It also should be mentioned that many changes are observed in their mental health. Adolescents try to find their inner "I", which is difficult. Owing to all those reasons they face so much stress and problems, moreover, hormonal changes and imbalances also affect them. As a result, most of them feel unsatisfied and unhappy. Recent researches by University College London demonstrate that 87.5% of teenagers feel unhappy with their lives, additionally, 61.3% thought about suicide at least once. Many people state that adulthood brings more happiness and it really does. Of course, being an adult is difficult because they have great responsibilities. But adults make crucial decisions themselves, they mostly feel no pressure, as they are independent. They have already found themselves, so they know who they are, and what they want from this life. Adults understand that their lives are under their control and they face both good and bad things as a result of actions they have done. In contrast with teenagers, this is much better and causes less stress. Moreover, according to the results of the interview which was held in Berkeley, California by the channel NTV 1, 211 of 250 interviewed people claim that being an adult is easier than being a teenager and that they would never want to return in their teens. To conclude, some individuals believe that teenagers are more happy, others disagree and state that adults have more happiness in their lives. However, this essay strongly supports the idea that although adults have greater responsibilities, they are still happier than teenagers, as they find themselves and understand how life goes.