Most people are not interested in how their food has been produced. They only care about how much it costs. How true is this statement? What influences people when they buy food?

Nowadays, most people tend to be careless about the fact behind ultraprocessed ultra processed food as they are more concern about the spending on their groceries. In my opinion, many people could not care less about what kind of food they are consuming as long as it is still in their budget. In modern society, instant food has become a trend for its efficiency. Most people would prefer to have supermarket food because it is easier to cook and cost less compared to the regular meal regardless of the ingredients contains in those processed food. As a result, this kind of diet has affected the health of the majority of people in many countries. For instance, in the United States when the number of citizens who consume ultraprocessed food is increasing, it is followed by the rise of diabetes cases. In addition, many companies have put the label of ingredients and nutrition facts in their products, however, only a few people who are aware enough to read it before add it to their groceries cart at the supermarket. Most people would look at the price first to decide whether or not they should buy any instant food. It is arguably that there are certain factors that affect people decision in buying meal. The majority of people believe that economic factor has the biggest influence on diet. For example, those from lower class family who lives in urban areas do not have any choices but to eat anything they could afford. Educational background is the second reason that influence many people food preference. Those with health background such as nutritians or doctors usually have the understanding of healthy and nutritious food. Therefore, they tend to control their diet to maintain their health. As far as I am concerned, it is true that many people still do not have the awareness of how their food is produced due to their tight budget. Moreover, food choices also depend on economic conditions and educational background. WORDS: 329