Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that by building more sports facilities, improvement in overall public health can be achieved. Others suggest looking for alternate approaches as this would not have a significant impact. While building more activity centres would help people stay fit, I believe that constructing more modern public healthcare units will benefit individuals in this regard. Gyms and fitness studios can assist folks in maintaining physical health through various workouts like weight training, cardio etc. Working out on a regular basis or at proper intervals ensures that some concerns like cholesterol, orthopaedic pain, and even mental well being etc are in check. As a result, the physiological and psychological conditions of a human are improved here. For example, a study by AIIMS Delhi stated that Chandigarh, a state of India, has seen the least admits in public and private hospitals because of their constant focus on enrolling their people in Akhadas, a kind of an open gym. However, this is not sufficient because fatal health issues cannot be treated by simply hitting the gym. Therefore, state authorities should look towards establishing new hospitals and nursing homes which are state-of-the-art. As the number increases, more hospital beds would be available. Hence, citizens would be able to undergo more medical scrutinies, routine follow-ups and much more. This in turn would uplift the average health index of the society. For instance, during the Covid-19 pandemic's second wave in 2021, every country around the world required more hospital beds than ever to cater to patients affected by the flu. Because of this demand, many fitness studios were also converted to treatment centres to take in more patients. This is why, I believe that more modern public health clinics are required over sports facilities. In conclusion, we require more investments in the healthcare domain to build more modern hospitals to better the average physiological conditions of a region and only relying on building activity centres is ill-advised.