Governments and big companies should work together to reverse environmental damage, rather than making individuals responsible for that. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this day and age, people have different views on whether governments or individuals should be the ones to deal with pollution. While there are some good arguments in favour of the view that inhabitants need to take responsibility for their own toxic substances, I personally disagree with this notion On the one hand, there is a growing belief that inhabitants should take responsibility for their own environmental damage. Firstly, many advocates of this view argue that individuals' activities have released a significant amount of toxic substances, making the environment polluted throughout the years. It is widely believed that a large quantity of emissions has been produced by citizens ' vehicles, causing the atmosphere less residential. Secondly, as the population witnesses a substantial rise, the emission is growing along with it. It might make the environment more damaged than before, thus individuals should acknowledge and be responsible in terms of their carbon footprints. On the other hand, apart from the practical reasons expressed above, I maintain that the government and big companies should shake hands to enhance people life quality. Firstly, people already fulfilled their mission regarding paying taxes, and they hope the government to play a role in this regard. The authority should take the responsibility of a leader, addressing the problem for the citizens and creating effective plans to improve the situation within a large scope. Another reason is that the amount of emissions released by industrial organizations is significantly higher than that produced by citizens. For instance, it has been proven by a wide range of research that industrial carbon dioxide is two times higher than vehicle gases. In conclusion, while there are certain reasons why people believe citizens should deal with environmental damage by themselves, it seems to me that governments and big organizations participating in this regard are a better option.