Some people say it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning a foreign language is essential to being part of the workforce. It is true that many people discuss whether it is more beneficial to learn another language at an early age or not. There are definitely positive and negative aspects to learn at each age to be considered. On the one hand, there is no doubt whatsoever that the most important benefit of learning a foreign language at primary school is that it develops their cognitive abilities. It is a well-known fact that studying language at an early age can enhance many interpersonal skills, such as problem-solving, mental skills, and creativity. Therefore, if youngsters study language in primary school, they are more likely to be fluent. This means that they have the opportunities to become near-native. This is highly beneficial for the students because they won't lose their time when they get older to improve their language. However, on the other hand, there is a definite drawback to learning another language at an early age rather than in secondary school that they might overwhelm children. Although young students have more motivation and greater energy for studying, beginning to teach them language with lots of challenging subjects like math could lead to increased academic pressure and decreased enjoyment of the learning process. This is clearly very detrimental for their educational route. In conclusion, although there are convincing arguments on both sides, I personally believe that the advantages of teaching young people a foreign language from primary school outweigh the disadvantages because of the cognitive development and achieved fluency.