In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In a hyper-competitive evolving job market, youths are constantly pressured by their future choices. It is seemingly understandable that some value educational development while others are persistent in short-term vocational and practical training to go straight to work. Obviously, this is due to the demanding job market for experienced youths, however, it is undeniable that multifaceted hands-on skills development will always outweigh book-based and exam-oriented knowledge, as most employers search for experiences rather than certificates. Right off the bat, it is clear that work-based training (vocational education tier) gives an advantage for students to learn the crux towards a realistic workload experience. For instance, these students will be exposed to the real job market by undergoing internships and hands-on training by the best of the best of all industries; engineering, medicine, hospitality etc. Furthermore, work-based training will cater towards large companies' training method that aligns with most Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) as well. This will indirectly allow students to help boost the practicality of the start-up industries with their hands-on skills. Other than that, students can easily enrol in work-based training centres at an early age of 15 years old. This gives students a prolonged preparation time to gain experience and enrich their working knowledge, catering to the reality of job markets. Inevitably, most work-based training is short-term term consisting of a 2 to 3-year programme. However, getting a degree straight from high school will take up almost 4 to 5 years of studying with minimal internship experiences. Concurrently, there a fatal impact if every youth chooses to do work-based training instead of attending universities. For instance, there cannot be any technological advancements as youths are not gaining new knowledge and commending themselves in Research and Development (R&D). This is crucial as most advancements came from university certificate holder as they have the knowledge to provide a solution instead of sticking to the white-collared office demand to sustain their financial needs. In conclusion, though there are disadvantages and advantages of work-based training, it is imperative in today's demanding job market to gain experience than to gain a certificate. Additionally, most youths have the mindset of making a living rather than making a change in the world. Therefore, work-based training will have a substantial impact towards youth who want to live their life by their working hours of clocking in and out and getting paid by the hour.