Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that living in a country where people speak a different language from yours can lead to serious social and practical problems. I completely agree with this notion for several reasons which will be discussed in this essay. Starting with social problems, the main issue is the difficulties individuals may face while making friends. When someone does not speak a foreign language as well as a native speaker, they may fail to communicate with neighbours or even colleagues properly. As a result, they cannot foster meaningful connections or simply social interactions, and finally, make any friends. Furthermore, people who are not fluent speaking the language of the country they live in also avoid attending local festivals. Thus, they do not engage in social events held in their neighbourhood. All of these can lead to isolation which can cause depression over time. There are several practical problems as well. Primarily, foreigners with a poor knowledge of the native language may have difficulties finding an appropriate job opportunity which not only matches their abilities and experiences, but also is related to their occupation. Even if they get a good job, They may not get promoted to reach the position they deserve. Moreover, they cannot seek help from health staff when having a health condition due to the poor linguistic understanding they have. It is impossible for them to explain the exact health problem they suffer from. Finally, shopping also may be an issue for these people, as they will not be able to shop from local supermarkets or grocery stores. In conclusion, speaking a foreign language in another country may turn out to be a real challenge when it comes to building social connections. It also makes people deal with various practical problems, such as getting a job or using facilities like hospitals and shopping centres.