Some people argue the government should support the funds for arts, while others suggest the money should be used for public health and education. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, with economic growth, there has been a significant increase in both material and spiritual needs of citizens. However, people hold different views about the allocation of government funds. Some individuals argue that the government should prioritize healthcare and educational fields. One main reason in favour of this view is that governments have the responsibility because they impose tax on almost all workers having a monthly income. Thus, they should reward those taxpayers with health care and education. Besides, health care and education are basic human rights and needs. However, the truth is that there exist some deprived and homeless people who cannot access them easily due to lack of money. For them, the state should provide financial assistance to help solve the difficulty. On the other hand, these needs may have been satisfied in some nations, especially in developed ones. Therefore, some people believe government grants should be poured into artistic development. Firstly, the arts, including musical, visual and literary ones, can help tired workers and stressed students after work and study to relax and get recharged, because of the peaceful, silent and colourful features of artworks. Furthermore, some arts, such as opera in China, which are unique to a country’s culture, can help to define a nation’s identity, give the members of the society a sense of belonging and strengthen national pride and cohesion. In conclusion, the government should value both types of fields, as health care and education are fundamental human rights and arts can meet residents’ emotional demands. However, the domain which the government should prioritize should depend on every country’s specific conditions.