Some believe children should be taught to give speeches and presentations in school. Why is this? What other skills do you think it is important to be taught in schools?

It is argued by some that speeches and presentations should be an integral part of a student's curriculum in school because this is going to be a part of their daily lives at work. Schools should also teach their students how to work as a team and how to defend themselves in a fight. Children, when they grow up, will require themselves to be good storytellers in order to present their ideas and thoughts to their bosses or managers. If these skills are taught during their school life, then the foundation will be strong, thereby emerging as more confident in communicating and presenting their work to their clients. For instance, the ICSE board of Indian primary and secondary education has mandatory subjects like extempore and presentations. These students are often found to be very articulate and confident when they start working. In addition to that, I believe schools should also inculcate team-building exercises and courses in self-defence. Such courses prove to be a great survival skill for children not only during their school life but also when they become adults. On one hand, working as a team helps build a strong friendship during childhood as well as in old age, creating bonds with other people, resulting in increased happiness. On the other hand, learning how to fight helps children defend themselves from bullies, and adults from thugs. For example, in Western countries, parents are enrolling their children in boxing and karate classes, now more than ever, because of the increased harassment their wards face due to bullying. In conclusion, schools should teach their students how to give a speech and a presentation because it will make them more articulate and confident when they interact with their colleagues. Universities should also introduce courses related to defence-fighting and team-building exercises as they are essential survival skills.