More and more men are taking maternity leave to look after their newborn children. Why do you think this is happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

More maternity leaves are being exercised by male employees to take care of their newborn babies because more companies are allowing them to do so. This essay finds this development to be positive. An increasing number of organizations are realizing the importance of a father's involvement in a child's life. As a result, they are incorporating new policies such as paternity leave for employees who have just become a father. Corporations prefer this because on the one hand, employees feel grateful to their employers and in turn want to stay longer, resulting in improved retention. On the other hand, this also helps to improve the company's image in public, which further helps in attracting new talents. For example, Zomato was the first Indian company to introduce paternity leave, which saw a record number of talents applying for Zomato because of its perks and benefits. In my opinion, this is a positive development because, in today's world, gender roles have changed a lot. The traditional duties of men and women have evolved. More fathers are recognizing their importance in the early life of their children and are willing to participate in childcare and household duties. They also want to support their partners during their crucial postpartum period, recognizing the emotional and physical support their wives or girlfriends need. For instance, a recent study by the Cambridge University suggests that mothers who have just given birth to their sons or daughters, need the fathers more than ever to run the daily house chores. In conclusion, more men are taking a leave from work to take care of their newborn babies because their employers have understood that it is improving the company's image and retention, and such a situation is positive, which falls in line with the evolution of traditional gender roles.