Technology has allowed many people to work from home, but it has also meant that they are often expected to be available for work outside of normal working hours. Do you think this is a positive or negative development for employees?

It is an indisputable truth that advancements in technology have made life easier. Modernisation has made it possible for people to work from home, but in return, employers are expecting employees to stay connected even after their working hours. This phenomenon has some benefits, but the drawbacks are more remarkable. On the one hand, there are a plethora of reasons why it is beneficial to work from home and stay connected even after one's shift ends. The most significant reason is that, at least while working from home, they can stay with their family at all times. Owing to this, their bond with their kids and other family members will also increase. Another reason is that this way, employees can save a lot of money. For example, if employees go to the office, they might travel through a mode of transportation, whether it be a car or a bus. But if they work from home, their travelling expenses will be saved. On the contrary, there are numerous reasons why this development can be negative. The first and foremost reason is that working more than their regular hours can lead to stress. For instance, if a person stays in touch even after their working hours, they will not have proper time for relaxation. Hence, they might not get proper sleep, and their mental health might get worse. Moreover, they will not be able to focus on their family, as they have to stay connected to work all the time. Consequently, it might create issues within their family as well. To conclude, although it can be beneficial for the employer if employees work even after their working hours, considering it from an employee's end, I believe it is a negative development.