Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is considered by some that competition in classroom can be disadvantageous to students, whereas other argue that it can make them eager to learn new things. Although it can cause mental stress on children's mind, I personally think that learning in such an environment can increase their attention toward lessons. On the one hand, there is too much pressure on kids to do better and stand out among peers. This can cause them a serious problem in their day to day life that can create mental health problems too. Also, too much competition can rob off a children of their childhood and playfulness. Additionally, there can also be development of enmity among peers which will deprive them of making any valuable connections. For instance, in India suicide rates rockets during exam seasons and at the time of result. On the other hand, when students are faced with competition, they feel like they are being challenged and therefore, do their best to outshine the rest of the classmates. It causes them listen to the teachers more, attend classes regularly and diligently completely their assignments on time. They are also inclined to do extra works and volunteer works inorder to gain extra credits which will not only make their report cards better but also aid in their future endeavors. For example, Indian and chinese are the most high ranking students in the world due to the extensive competition they are face with in their schools. In conclusion, competition might be the cause of mental illnesses in children, however, it can cultivate a child's mind into a greater one by training it harder at the same time. So, with a careful approach, a student can take advantage of a competitve environment.